Tuesday, January 23, 2018

First Thoughts [#154]


First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.


Monday, January 22, 2018

Behind the Screen: A Book Blogger Tag


One of my favorite aspects of book blogging is that we have the opportunity to get to know each other through our writing and reading habits. My most favorite posts from bloggers are the ones where I get to learn something new about my favorite bloggers and share likes and dislikes. I think that's why I created this tag. If you ever wanted to get to know me a bit more, now is your chance! If not, well, sorry. 
Friday, January 19, 2018

Book Review: The Hazel Wood

Title: The Hazel Wood (The Hazel Wood #1)
Author: Melissa Albert
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Fairytales
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Source: ALA
Format: ARC

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”
Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong (goodreads).


The Hazel Wood was a creepy delight!
Thursday, January 18, 2018

Book Review: Reign of the Fallen

Title: Reign of the Fallen (Reign of the Fallen #1)
Author: Sarah Glenn Marsh
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy | Magic
Publisher: Razorbill

Publication Date: January 23, 2018
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC

Odessa is one of Karthia's master necromancers, catering to the kingdom's ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it's Odessa's job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised--the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin.
A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa's necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead--and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question: What if her necromancer's magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees (goodreads)?


Reign of the Fallen was exciting but missing some key character and world development. 
Tuesday, January 16, 2018

First Thoughts [#153]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.

Monday, January 15, 2018

Thoughts Every Blogger Has


I've been blogging for over eight years and each year brings about new insecurities and new victories. Since blogging is primarily an individual hobby, I often get stuck in my own head and feel that I'm the only one with less than positive thoughts about blogging. So I present you with the various blogging-related thoughts I've had over the years. 
Friday, January 12, 2018

Book Review: A Promise of Fire

Title: A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #1)
Author: Amanda Bouchet
Genre: Adult | Fantasy | Mythology | Romance
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: August 2, 2016
Source: Purchased
Format: eBook

Catalia "Cat" Fisa lives disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus. She is perfectly content avoiding the danger and destiny the Gods-and her homicidal mother-have saddled her with. That is, until Griffin, an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south, fixes her with his steely gaze and upsets her illusion of safety forever.
Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker, the woman who divines the truth through lies. He wants her as a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm-until he realizes he wants her for much more than her magic. Cat fights him at every turn, but Griffin's fairness, loyalty, and smoldering advances make him increasingly hard to resist and leave her wondering if life really does have to be short, and lived alone (goodreads)


A Promise of Fire never drew me in. 
Thursday, January 11, 2018

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters
Author: Samira Ahmed
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary 
Publisher: Soho Teen
Publication Date: January 16, 2018
Source: ALA
Format: ARC


A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.
There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs (goodreads).


Samira Ahmed's Love, Hate, and Other Filters is a refreshing voice in Young Adult contemporary. 
Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday [#128]



Title: The Traitor's Game (The Traitor's Game #1)
Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Nothing is as it seems in the kingdom of Antora. Kestra Dallisor has spent three years in exile in the Lava Fields, but that won't stop her from being drawn back into her father's palace politics. He's the right hand man of the cruel king, Lord Endrick, which makes Kestra a valuable bargaining chip. A group of rebels knows this all too well -- and they snatch Kestra from her carriage as she reluctantly travels home.The kidnappers want her to retrieve the lost Olden Blade, the only object that can destroy the immortal king, but Kestra is not the obedient captive they expected. Simon, one of her kidnappers, will have his hands full as Kestra tries to foil their plot, by force, cunning, or any means necessary. As motives shift and secrets emerge, both will have to decide what -- and who -- it is they're fighting for (goodreads).